Wilson Street Records is proud to announce the upcoming release of Paul Oneto’s indie rock/folk EP Strange. This six-song EP is a hauntingly beautiful exploration of the human mind and its complexities, with themes that touch on depression, dark thoughts, and the journey of self-discovery through the noise of our inner dialogue.

Paul Oneto, a talented singer-songwriter who suffers from depression, wrote these songs over the course of several years, starting in his early twenties and ending with the 52 songs he wrote in 52 weeks during the pandemic in 2020. The result is a collection of six songs that drift from ambient, evolving indie folk to straight driving rock. From Southpaw, a rock song which draws the listener into the metaphorical mind of a badly beaten fighter, to the haunting sound of Royal Red which narrates one man’s appreciation for simple beauty from the view of an apartment window – a common thread is woven throughout this sonic collage. Each song captures a dark, introspective moment and brings out the raw, laid-bare essence of an inner dialogue which we often struggle to keep hidden from the world. In this way, the haunting melodies and thought-provoking lyrics attempt to resonate with an audience battling with their own demons by making the uncomfortable corners of our minds a shared experience rather than an isolating one.

Many of the tracks were recorded in the living room of Paul’s apartment. He began exploring home production during the quarantine of 2020 when he committed to releasing 52 songs in 52 weeks. Inspired by improving his recording skills during this ambitious project, he dusted off a few old song ideas and half-finished recordings that he had gathered over the years and put together a selection of songs he felt shared a story. Once the bulk of the arrangement was done, he brought Strange to producer Jake Stillman and finished the tracks at Wilson Street Records in Petaluma during the winter of 2022. This included help from session musicians Dave Rollans, John Hendricks, David Grey, Tim Mueller, and Jesse Adams.

Track List:

  1. Royal Red
  2. Southpaw
  3. I’m Strange
  4. Loops
  5. Something on My Head (Again)
  6. Equinox


Release Date : February 24, 2023
Artist : Paul Oneto
Genres : Indie Folk, Indie Rock
Catalog ref. : WSR016

“Strange” the sophomore EP from singer/songwriter Paul Oneto available from Wilson Street Records and digital streaming platforms.